turbo 505 horsepower / boost limits?

whats up everyone i am new to the world of peugeot's. i will be pickin an 85 505 turbo on tuesday, i have been searching and havent found anything on the the limits of the stock motor/turbo. i know it has a garrett t3 which is a very good turbo, but what am i lookin at number wise for the limitations of the stock bottom end. thanx

nick

Honestly there isn't enough info around to reliably say what the bottom end is good for.

In my opinion - When you look at the bits that make up the bottom end - it's outstanding and it *should* do 350 - 400 HP, but it needs a better head gasket (o-ringed copper maybe? Multi-layer steel?) and upraded bolts or a stud kit for mounting the head to see those numbers reliably though.

Sadly nobody's really gone nuts with boost or modding these cars to the limits, but they did race these cars in Europe back in the day with the top engines pushing 500+ HP. They weren't stock bottom ends though from what I've read.

Couple people on the forum are in the midst of build ups, but the limits won't be known till after they get built...

Rabin

I would say whith stock setup 0.8bar is max (can peak in 0.9) but eaven then timing adwance must be correct and all systems (injectors, knocking detection, etc...) have to work.

Adding more fuel and install fex.2.5" down pipe 0.9bar is ok for continous pressure.

Original pistons are wery sensitive for knoking, those breaks easily (I have 3 sets (4 pistons) which are broke from between 1st and 2nd ring), those are from different engines.

For 1bar and over needed changes are more hardware changes.

I did have 1bar and peaking 1.1bar in my dyno run. My limitter was original injection and advance system.

V-M

I would say whith stock setup 0.8bar is max (can peak in 0.9) but eaven then timing adwance must be correct and all systems (injectors, knocking detection, etc...) have to work.

Adding more fuel and install fex.2.5" down pipe 0.9bar is ok for continous pressure.