Newbie buying '89 505 turbo SW8. What things to check on inspection?

bergxu

Hey all,

Next weekend I'm going to check out and potentially buy what seems to be a nice looking 505 wagon. Quick bit about me; I'm a professional mechanic by trade and I work for a main Maserati dealer so twirling wrenches is no biggie for me. I presently own a few quirky machines such as a Citroën DS, a Triumph TR6, a Jag XK120 and a handful of older Mercedes. Never had a Pug before but remember them well from my childhood as a friend's mom had a 505 which I rode in many times.

Anyhow, I was wondering if anyone can provide me with a 'quick reference' list of things to check while I'm looking the car over before I hand over any cash. I'd be looking to drive the car home about 5 hours away but will have my wife running backup in my trusty Merc 300TD wagon. I know the basics obviously but I've heard these cars are bad for head gasket leaks.

Also, where is the best parts source for these? I assume Europe, but is anyone in the US stocking spares for these cars? I'm guessing the fuel injection and ignition systems are either Bosch, Lucas or Marelli?

Thanks all for any insight.

Aaron

Welcome to the forum Aaron!

My quick list would be to check the coolant reservoir for bubbles - that's the give away for the head being cracked.

The single ujoint can be an issue so check for clunking R to D.

Rear axle for seals - when they go there's gear oil in the drums.

Heater motor can squeal or make odd noises.

Other than that its not that bad. As a mechanic you'll know that a rebuilt head from Erikkson is ~$1100 (last time I checked) which isnt bad at all.

There's a vendor section on the site and I've used each of them and they're awesome. They dont pay to be there - I asked to feature them as they're great for our community.

Bosch L-jet injection, distributor cap is common with VW as are it's internals.